top of page

Amapiano Awards 2021 – A Memorable Night for South African Amapiano!

The Genre, Amapiano, is taking the world by storm, it brings pure postive vibes has transformed into one of South Africa’s biggest assets.

The sound has gained attention the of millions of South African Youths, elders and prominent music moguls such as Diddy, Swizz Beats, Naira Marley, Davido, Virgil and the like.

So, the Amapiano awards just seems fitting to celebrate the work of everyone that has played a part in transforming this genre into what it is today. It is only right to recognise the Producers, Artists, DJs, Dancers, Vocalists for showcasing their talent.

The maiden South African Amapiano Music Awards was graced by many South African celebrities who marched into the venue in their colours and flamboyant outfits. We love to see it!

In the awards, Busta 929 and the late Mpura ft. Zuma, MrJazziQ, Lady Du and Reece Madlisa took the grand price of R50,000 for the Song Of the Year Award with all the other category winners pocketing R10,000 each.

Boohle seems to have gone home with the biggest win as she secured two awards.

Respectively, the Late Amapiano stars, Mpura and Killer Kau were honoured at the event.

Let’s take a look at the full list of 2021 winners below:

Best Amapiano Music Video

  1. Nkulunkulu’ – Kamo Mphela

  2. Ke Star’ – Focalistic

  3. Emathandweni’ – DJ Zandimaz

  4. Dinaledi’ – Major League DJz, Abidoza, Mpho Sebina – Winner

  5. Woza’ – Sha Sha

Best Amapiano Newcomer

  1. DJ Obza

  2. Amaroto

  3. Soulful G

  4. Boohle – Winner

  5. Nobantu

Friends of Amapiano

  1. Cassper Nyovest

  2. Vetkuk vs Mahoota

  3. Riky Rick – Winner

  4. Oskido

  5. Mi Casa

Most Viral Amapiano Song of the Year

  1. John Vuligate’ – Mapara A Jazz, Ntosh Gazi and Colano

  2. Catalia’ – Junior De Rocka, Lady Du, Mr JazziQ, Mellow and Sleazy

  3. Khuza Gogo’ – DBN Gogo, Blaqnick, MasterBlaq, Mpura, Ama Avenger and MJ – Winner

  4. Vula Mlomo’ – Musa Keys, Sir Trill and Nobantu Vilakaz

  5. Dakiwe’ – Lady Du, DBN Gogo, Mr JazziQ, Seekay and Busta 929

Best Amapiano Dance Act

  1. Kamo Mphela – Winner

  2. Pabi Cooper

  3. Bontle Smith

  4. Uncle Vinny

  5. Lungy Gwala

Best Amapiano Lyricist/Rapper

  1. Reece Madlisa & Zuma

  2. Lady Du

  3. Focalistic

  4. Miano

  5. Mpura – Winner

Best Amapinao Vocalist

  1. Boohle – Winner

  2. Samthing Soweto

  3. Soulful G

  4. Sha Sha

  5. Lady Du

Best Amapiano Collaboration

  1. Reece Madlisa and Zuma ft. Mr Jazziq & Busta 929 – ‘Zlele’

  2. Mr Jazziq, Kabza De Small and Lady Du ft. Boohle – ‘Woza’

  3. Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa ft. Aymos, Samthing Soweto, Myztro & Mas Musiq – ‘Emcimbini’

  4. Semi Tee & Mdu Aka Trp ft. Sir Trill – ‘Isingisi’

  5. Killer Kau & Mr Jazziq ft. Reece Madlisa, Zuma and DJ Thackzin – ‘Amaneighbour’ – Winner

Best Amapiano Music Producer

  1. De Mthuda

  2. Busta 929

  3. Josiah De Disciple

  4. Kabza De Small – Winner

  5. Abidoza

Amapiano Song of the Year

  1. ‘Ke Star’ – Focalistic ft. Vigro Deep

  2. ‘Umsebenzi Wethu’ – Busta 929 & Mpura ft. Zuma, Mr JazziQ, Lady Du & Reece Madlisa – Winner

  3. ‘Khuza Gogo’ – DBN Gogo, Blaqnick & MasterBlaq ft. Mpura, Ama Avenger & MJ

  4. ‘Amanikiniki’ – MFR Souls ft. Major League DJz, Kamo Mphela & Bontle Smith

  5. ‘Uthando’ – Soa Mattrix & Soulful G ft. Shaun 101

  6. ‘Emathandweni’ – Zandimaz ft. Nokwazi

  7. ‘Idlozi Lam’ – DJ Obza ft. Nkosazana & DJ Freetz

  8. ‘John Wick’ – De Mthuda ft. Sir Trill & Da Muziqal Chef

  9. ‘Vula Mlomo’ – Musa Keys ft. Sir Trill & Nobantu Vilakazi

  10. ‘Dinaledi’ – Major League DJz ft. Abidoza & Mpho Sebina

Best Amapiano Street Dancer

  1. Hope Ramafalo

  2. Lungy Gwala

  3. Dipolelo Dipsie

  4. Jessica Mashaba

  5. Theebuhle (Lundi Buhle Gugwana)

Best Amapiano Live Vocal Performance

  1. Samthing Soweto

  2. Daliwonga

  3. Sha Sha

  4. Sir Trill

  5. Boohle

Amapiano to the World!


bottom of page